Congratulations to our new Honorary Life Members

Saturday 05 November 2016

Five exceptional individuals became Honorary Life Members of the New Zealand AIDS Foundation (NZAF) in a touching ceremony on 05 November 2016. Warren Lindberg, also a life member of NZAF and who served as Executive Director of the Foundation for many years in its early days, presented the highest award the organisation bestows to Jane Bruning, Nigel Dickson, Bruce Kilmister, Anna Reed and Geoff Rua’ine

NZAF’s Honorary Life Members 2016 (L-R) Nigel Dickson, Jane Bruning, Bruce Kilmister, Anna Reed and Geoff Rua’ine

“It has taken decades for New Zealand to build what is an enviable HIV management record by world standards. We have worked together to build a social movement based on the principles of human rights and health equity,” said David Friar, NZAF Board Chair.

“We have grown a strong, robust and accountable organisation. None of this would be possible without the support of our many dedicated volunteers and champions. For some it has been a long-term, if not life-long commitment. It is five of those people we honour tonight.  Looking forward, we are going to need the community standing staunchly by our side.”

The evening served as a reminder to the community of the gains made in HIV prevention by individuals and organisations over the years. Each Life Member through their memories of the early days of the epidemic, drew attention to the urgent need for everyone to rally together in our response to HIV in New Zealand today.

The evening concluded with an incredible performance by Ahakoa te aha.

Warren Lindberg, Chief Executive, Public Health Association. Tony Hughes, QSM, Scientific Director NZAF and Nigel Dickson, Honorary Life Member 2016

David Friar, NZAF Board Chair and Jason Myers, Executive Director, NZAF

Ahakoa te aha

The NZAF network

    No results available